Rewards Perceived As Punishments - Things i Learned In Bosnia That Hillary May have Missed

12/05/2011 02:38

I remember my second stop by at Bosnia. It was in the winter of 1997. Unlike Hillary, I can't remember sniper fire and i also will not "miss-speak," or perhaps in this case "miss-write" my recollections. I actually do remember learning any time people are rewarded with the information they perceive as a punishment, you can expect to be bit in the proverbial "arss-in-all."

{C}

First a little background. I will be no soldier or hero. I volunteered to participate within the Department of Defense's Overseas Show program. This can be a little publicized branch with the military that simply seeks to offer some basic and inexpensive at home entertainment for troops who live abroad. Unlike the USO, volunteers live, travel, sleep, and eat using the soldiers. I proceeded four tours, every time I remarked that the comedy shows we did just weren't nearly as important as our simply bringing new faces to lonely, isolated, and hardworking camps. Amazingly, these soldiers always treated us like heroes.

Bosnia in the winter of 1997 was the worst individuals tours, and the most profound. Worst because Bosnia in the wintertime is a very cold place, particularly if you are asked to sleep in a "tent city" where every space heater must be shut off before people fall asleep. Space heaters in tents are believed to be a fire hazard. I was snowed in at one camp for three days, and we did a show every day. Our improvisational comedy was particularly appreciated because we kept incorporating the stream dripping through the leaky roof individuals "stage." Each night, I lived through the most uncomfortable "rests" of my entire life, asking myself to fall asleep but being too cold to unwind and too warm to die. I remember thinking that hell isn't full of fire, but packed with a painful cold that could never end. I only suffered through three nights on this torture; the soldiers around me were investigating six months. I remember how next camp, we were assigned rooms inside a once condemned but recently reclaimed building. We danced with the decaying plaster as if we found a warm haven in heaven.

One night, following a show, one of the soldiers produced comment that I will not ever forget. He said, "You must be careful about performing a good job around here, or they'll stick you with another year's tour."

So exactly what does my story are locked up in you?

Too often leaders reward people's use an expectation more work without more reward. Even worse, we often punish the very actions we should be rewarding. Within a lecture on rewards and punishments, One time i had a student raise his hand to state, "That's so true. Whenever I help with this problem at home, I just get asked to do more. The better I help, greater I get asked to do. It's gotten i really don't volunteer for anything. Recently, my aunt's gardener got sick and couldn't make his weekly visit, i really decided to help out using the lawn. I spent all weekend cleaning and mowing. Do you know how my aunt rewarded me? She fired the gardener, making it the yard my responsibility."

Frenchmen Bob Saget Blue State Brutal Massacre A Comedy Kissin Cousins Sgt Kabukiman NYPD Disco Worms Elvis Has Left The Building Every time just like this C H O M P S Fractured Flickers Pat Carroll guest Just One Night Frenchmen Bob Saget Blue State Brutal Massacre A Comedy Kissin Cousins Sgt Kabukiman NYPD Disco Worms Elvis Has Left The Building Every time just like this C H O M P S Fractured Flickers Pat Carroll guest Just One Night Frenchmen Bob Saget Blue State Brutal Massacre A Comedy Kissin Cousins Sgt Kabukiman NYPD Disco Worms Elvis Has Left The Building Every time just like this C H O M P S Fractured Flickers Pat Carroll guest Just One Night Frenchmen Bob Saget Blue State Brutal Massacre A Comedy Kissin Cousins Sgt Kabukiman NYPD Disco Worms Elvis Has Left The Building Every time just like this C H O M P S Fractured Flickers Pat Carroll guest Just One Night Frenchmen Bob Saget

Don't punish those who find themselves doing well by expecting much more. Whenever we ask for help, get help, and instantly expect more help, we punish the very actions that we want repeated. The conclusion of this article is simply this...if you can't like what people have already been giving you; you should examine what you are able have been inadvertently rewarding...