Sewing Machines - How to Determine a Sewing Machine's Value Against a Serger Machine

12/04/2011 17:44

A couple years back I purchased a new Baby lock embroidery new sewing machine. What a neat machine it can be. It embroiders beautifully. There are plenty of digitized embroidery designs to pick from that I have a hard time picking and deciding what I want to make. The one thing that bothered me in regards to the items I was making is that the seams didn't have the finished look and strength that we wanted.

I decided it was time to take a look at a serger. I didnrrrt want to spend a great deal on another sewing once i splurged for my embroidery machine. I took some time and researched serger sewing machines and various brands. I discovered that threading a serger machine is often rather daunting; enough so that seamstresses with sergers tend to not modify the threads in their sergers mainly because it can be quite a task to take action. Some machine service and repair shops charge $25.00 or maybe more to thread a serger sewing for customers. Take this into consideration when you are looking for sewing machines available.

I decided to go to my local new sewing machine store where I bought my Baby lock embroidery machine. I needed to take a look at a Baby lock serger. As soon as they demonstrated the infant lock Imagine I became hooked. This serger machine is indeed easy to thread that one could switch threads as readily since you can on a regular new sewing machine. I continued to consider I could get by with a less expensive serger, but I cannot get past the automatic threading feature of the Baby lock Imagine and Enlighten. I gave in a purchased the Baby lock Enlighten. Everyone loves this serger machine. There are more than filled the gap I had in my sewing projects. I have used my embroidery new sewing machine more since I purchased my new serger. It is a win-win.

A serger machine differs from the others from a regular machine because it cuts the seam allowance off since you sew. You have a smaller amount room for error. After you get used to how you start using a serger machine you will wonder whatever you ever did without. Sergers can be good sewing machines for freshies. There are seamstresses who exclusively use a serger machine when generating clothes and craft projects.

How do I get Elna Zigzag General Purpose 425754 Best Singer Quantum 4in Foot P60498 Price comparisons for BOBBIN BERN HOLE OLD MODELS Viking Blindstitch Foot 4129766 45 Compare prices Who sells Amazing Designs ADP 16J Whimsical Winter cheap Deluxe Serger Inner Compartment P78001 Sale BOBBIN WINDER NH RE3000 Compare prices Groovy Board Feathers Quilting Template Best price Where can I buy BOBBIN CASE SAME 383386 931 ORI Compare prices for Groovy Board Sunflowers Quilting Template Deals for CONSEW 756R 3 Format Users Manual Price comparisons of Amazing Designs ADP 2J Girl Power Discounted Groovy Board Garden Quilting Template What is the best price for FOOT CLEAR PFAFF SNAP 98 694864 00 Discounted BOBBIN CASE ELNA 100 1000 Dakota Collectibles embroidery designs Friends Best price S20406 0 01 Brother Needle Clamp Sale Deals for Amazing Designs ADP 31J Christmas Spirit Discounted BOBBIN JAPAN PC5000 PS1000 PS2500 Needle Plate Bernina 327 000 034 Reviews The cheapest CONSEW DLS600 Format Users Manual online Compare prices for SPOOL LEAD SINGER LARGE 312815 456 Who sells the cheapest Sew Quik Threaded Hand Needles Asssorted online Deals for Amazing Designs ADP 25 Garden Tools Leather Hand Needles For sale online BOBBIN BROTHER BBL7500 DELCO PLASTIC On line Buying BOBBIN WINDER SNGR SX DSX Get the best price for Amazing Designs ADP 17P Welcome Garden Discount Family Press ST 04 36 For sale Pattern Adhesive A15 Cheapest Adorable Ideas embroidery designs Pirate online FOOT PRESSER ELNA 396001 76 For sale Buying GraceHoop Squared 18 inch square hand quilting Who sells BOBBIN WINDER BRO 950 UP Who sells the cheapest Dakota Collectibles embroidery designs American online Who sells BOBBIN WINDER BERNINA 1090 123 the cheapest Price comparisons of Taiko TK372 Cheapest Singer Zipper Slant Foot 161166 online Where can I buy Big Hoop models XL5000 XL6000 Where to buy 64 Hemmer Foot 0029557000 Bernina Cheap HOLDER BOBBIN WINDER BRO ULT2001 online Who sells Singer Slant Invisible Zipper 943800000 Online GEMSY 5590 Get cheap Cover Plate P60402 style Singer Groovy Board Squiggles Quilting Template Price Get the best price for BOBBIN CASE LOTUS TENSION SPRING Price comparisons for BOBBIN SD2014CE2200 SW2018E MC4000ELNITA 3000KEN Get cheap CONSEW 199R 1A Format Users Manual CONSEW 7360RATCWL Format Users Manual Cheap CONSEW 277R Format Users Manual Cheap

When you will have a situation where you won't be able to serge a seam you may use the serger to finish each individual edge. That way you have a professional looking finish. Another thing to take into consideration when serging a seam for the project is that you can have a smaller seam allowance when you have a serged seam than you normally make with a normal sewing machine. I love a ¼ inch seam for a serging machine versus a 5/8 inch seam for normal sewing machine sewing.